Silver linings

If I’m going to accept that my depression is part of God’s plan for me, that means finding the silver linings in the clouds that have engulfed me over the past few months.

It’s not always easy, but one of them is impossible to miss, and that’s the fact that I truly have the best friends in the world.

It’s no exaggeration to say that I couldn’t have survived this experience without them.

They have sat by hospital beds, and literally scooped me up off the floor.

They’ve visited me in a mental hospital: not the sort of place anyone would ever choose to spend time.

They’ve turned up on my doorstep to check I’m okay.

They’ve put up with me veering between desperately clingy and pushing them away.

They’ve tolerated me changing plans and letting them down.

They’ve held my hand through church services that I wouldn’t have made it through otherwise.

They’ve looked after my kids and my husband.

They’ve sent me flowers, books and other little treats to let me know they’re thinking of me.

They’ve mopped up my tears a thousand times and never told me they’ve had enough of me, even though I know at times, they must have dreaded seeing or speaking to me.

They’ve loved me at my most unlovable.

I am truly blessed.

Leave a comment