50 reasons why I hate myself

  1. I’m fat.
  2. I’m a rubbish mother.
  3. I don’t help with homework.
  4. My house is a mess.
  5. I’m covered in scars.
  6. Every day, I feel like killing myself.
  7. I don’t pray enough.
  8. I don’t read my Bible enough.
  9. I hate playing with my children.
  10. I need time alone and get ratty if I don’t get it.
  11. I’m lazy.
  12. I’m needy and burdensome.
  13. I take take take all the time and never give.
  14. I’m impatient.
  15. I say I trust in God but I don’t feel him with me.
  16. I’m hopeless at praying and reading the Bible with the children.
  17. I don’t call my mum enough.
  18. I have no contact with my father but take his money.
  19. I waste money on stuff I don’t need.
  20. I sin and sin and sin and sin.
  21. I’m ugly.
  22. I have no real friends.
  23. People dread seeing me.
  24. I don’t like having sex.
  25. I’m scared of Australia.
  26. I don’t iron.
  27. I leave my clothes pegs on the line overnight.
  28. I get so tired.
  29. I’m a rubbish driver.
  30. I nag.
  31. I hate being touched because it might lead to sex.
  32. I stay up late when Ian wants to sleep, and go to bed early when he wants me to stay up.
  33. I keep praying for God to take my life.
  34. I keep fantasising about jumping off that motorway bridge.
  35. I’m a terrible friend.
  36. I’m self-obsessed.
  37. I want to self-harm so much.
  38. I can’t go into the chemist without wanting to buy enough tablets to wipe myself out.
  39. My kids are known to social services because of me.
  40. I drink too much because it numbs the feelings.
  41. I don’t feel that God cares.
  42. I don’t think he listens to me.
  43. I’m married to a non-Christian and that means I’m not a proper Christian.
  44. I want to go to sleep and never wake up.
  45. I want to die.
  46. I want to die.
  47. I want to die.
  48. I want to die.
  49. I don’t know how to do it but
  50. I want to die.

2 thoughts on “50 reasons why I hate myself

  1. Lucy. I’m so sorry. Depression is a beast. And that’s what this is. Not you. Not the truth. It’s easy to say that to someone else, but I fight to say the same things to myself. Everyone else does not have together. You are not alone. I know it’s hard to go back to the CPN, but that would be a great step if you felt able to. Praying for you and cheering you on and thankful for you and your ministry. xxxxx

Leave a comment